Skip to content

Review: Bitter Virgin

February 22, 2010

Title:
Bitter Virgin is one of my first mangas I read. When I randomly surfed on Onemanga.com I checked the charts and on the 3rd place was this manga (this was around September ’08). As I was a noob at this time I thought I get some pretty neat H-scenes. But instead I got one of the best mangas I’ve ever read yet.

Content:
The story of Bitter Virgin is about a young man named Daisuke who’s a self-centred womanizer. His character is flat and he doesn’t seem to be nice at all. One day Daisuke discovers a terrible secret of Aikawa who is one of his classmates. She seems to be afraid of every single man and Daisuke knows why. He tries to find out whether or not this was a stupid prank of hers. Sadly, it’s not. From this point on Daisuke’s character develops very fast and gets deeper every chapter. Not only his character develops the relationship between Daisuke and Aikawa does too.

The side characters are not as well developed as the main characters. In fact they are pretty cliché: We have a tsundere who desperately loves Daisuke and the good old childhood friend who falls for him as well (don’t get me wrong, this is not a harem situation).

Art:
One of the weirdest tings in this manga is the art and the panel composition. What do I mean with “weird”?

In normal cases I absolutely hate the shojou/josei-style but for this manga it fits perfectly although the genre is neither seinen nor josei. It’s cut for both I think.

The panel composition looks complicated but in fact it’s easy to follow:

You see the panels are arranged quite open. Often you got a single picture on the page which is overlaid by some panels.

Overall:
Secrets, drama, romance and a nice ending you don’t see often nowadays are forming this manga into something unique. The only thing is that the side characters are too cliché. But nevertheless, even they have some character development (not as huge as the main characters’ though).

After my 2nd manga list re-rating and my 2nd re-read, the rating dropped from a 10 to a 9.

This series deserves the “No Fanservice Quality Seal of Approval”.

PS: A little hint… Aikawa is in my opinion NOT the Bitter Virgin! hahahaha

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 6:13 pm

    I agree completely. Excellent manga. And I personally do like shoujo a lot. This is not that, though, as you say. Just a good story with some strong characters and harsh events.

Leave a Reply

