Skip to content

Why are Sci-Fi Manga ruling my top five list?

April 5, 2010

As I mentioned at the end of my AKIRA-Review, four of my top five manga are Sci-Fi stories. So I wondered why, as I didn’t notice it before. I just added what I liked and suddenly, I got a bunch of sci-fi series in my top 5.

Let’s take a closer look at the series…

1. 20th Century Boys

Kenji and his former school-friends have to face a mysterious man called “Tomodachi” (jap. for “friend”) who seems to be one of his classmates too. He forms the world into a harsh dictatorship.

2. AKIRA

Kaneda is a motorbike gang leader in the futuristic Neo-Tokyo. His best friend Tetsuo gets involved in some military experiments which let him get psycho-powers.

The full review you can find HERE.

3. Mysterious Girlfriend X

… is not a sci-fi series but you should start reading it, too!

Stay tuned for my chapter reviews!

4. Pluto

Pluto is Urasawa Naoki’s adaptation of one story arc of Osamu Tetsuka’s Astro Boy. The German inspector Gesicht has to investigate in the first robotic murder case in 8 years. He gets deeper and deeper into it and reaches his own limits as he’s an android, too.

The review is still in my “early drafts” folder but you can expect it to be released sometime soon.

 

5. Blame!

“May be on earth… maybe in the future…” with these words you start following the odyssey of Killy who wanders around in the world which is covered in by the Megastructure, seeking for some special NET-genes. On his way he meets all kinds of bizarre life-forms.

So, my conclusion is that all these sci-fi series are showing a world in the future based on our present (unlike Star Wars which takes place in an other galaxy) turning to the bad side creating a dystopia.

The shocking thing is that our present combines all these “dark seeds” from the mangas like giving politicians more power, take away the people’s rights and creating a monopolized economy or preparing for an East vs. West war. With the Afghanistan and Iraq (and the soon enough the Iran) war, the US is conquering strategic points to circle Russia and China plus the US has control over the NATO so that the EU is automatically involved.

All these references to our present are making these stories so convincing and believable and I think that’s the reason why they are all in my top 5.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 11:03 am

    For me, it’s sport manga as Slam Dunk and Eyeshield are definitely in my top 5.

    As for the others though, I’ve never given it much thought. I’d love to give one of the ones on your list a try though, since I definitely feel like I need some diversity in the manga I read.

    • April 7, 2010 1:29 pm

      Same here. I read your article about Eyeshield and it seems to be really good. Maybe I’ll give it a try. All the other sports manga I read before were kinda boring except for Ashita no Joe.

      • April 7, 2010 11:30 pm

        Is the Akira listed here the same as the movie?

        I really should give Ashita no Joe a chance too. I was kind of interested when it was mentioned in the first few chapters of Bakuman and it seems to be a classic.

      • April 8, 2010 12:18 am

        The Akira movie is on the 2nd place on my anime top five as well. The animations are one of the best I’ve ever seen and the whole movie is lip synchronized.

Leave a Reply

